Time.

So the hubby took a job in Texas for a few months in July and to my surprise I was sad he was leaving this time.  Not worried, but finally in a place in our marriage again where I like him.  I was crying when he left and he asked what was wrong.  I told him, “I’m starting to LOVE you again and don’t want you to leave for so long.”  No it’s not that I don’t trust him, because, I do.  It’s just that we have or maybe I have, started to enjoy our interactions again and don’t want to lose that.

I mean isn’t that what marriage is about, the companionship that we share with each other?

So last weekend he was in town and we spent the weekend away.  A bit of a staycation in the valley, sans children.  We laughed, swam in the pool, took naps, and had a late night dinner. I slept in on Sunday and brunched at one of our favorite places late in the afternoon.

After the weekend passed he left to go back to his job, but I realized this weekend we are finally back. Wait, maybe it’s that I’m back!

No more obsessing or thinking of the past and it’s good.  We are good, really good.  I had some time to talk to him about the weekend last night, how things just flowed and seemed incredibly smooth.  How I enjoyed giggling and laughing together.  How different our life is almost three years post D day.  I try not to bring up D Day any more but I thought it was something to acknowledge.  I don’t think we could have come this far if we hadn’t been through what we went thought.  I never thought of us as a strong couple and maybe that why everything happened the way it did. I felt strong this weekend. I felt confident and I felt love.

I think this needs to be heard for those of you that follow me in similar situations. It can get better. It’s a lot of work, time  and quite a bit of screaming, yelling and crying in the the beginning, but you can heal.

One thought on “Time.

Leave a Reply

